JDEC voting meeting to be conducted by mail

Jefferson Davis Electric Cooperative Inc.’s Annual Meeting has been changed due to COVID-19 concerns.

After careful consideration, the Board of Directors decided not to meet in person for the 2020 Annual Meeting of the Members, which was set for Monday, July 13.

This action was taken due to the restrictions related to large public gatherings during the coronavirus pandemic. We all want to return to “normal life”, but we also need to keep our members and employees safe.

While we will not have an in-person gathering, we still have important business to conduct: election of directors to represent Districts 2, 5 and 8.
You will vote for each district listed below regardless of what district you live in. District 2 candidates are Kirk Weldon – Incumbent and Steven Brown. District 5 candidates are Kevin Sonnier and Joel Trahan.

Voting will be done by mail-in ballot. Ballots will be mailed to members the week of June 29. If you do not receive one, please contact the office.

Completed ballots must be returned in the envelope provided no later than Tuesday, July 21. Winners will be announced on the Facebook page and in the September/October edition of Louisiana Country.

If a quorum is reached, all members who returned their ballot will be entered into a drawing for three prizes: $1,500 for first place, and $1,000 each for second and third place.