Qualifying results told

Qualifying for the Oct. 14th Gubernatorial Primary Election ended on Thursday, Aug. 10. Information was submitted by the Cameron Clerk of Court. Those qualifying who were unopposed and declared ther winner are:


Michael G. “Mike” Strain(R), Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry; Mike Reese (R), State Senator 30th Senatorial District; Dewith Carrier (R), State Representative 32nd Representative District; “Les” Farnun (R), State Representative 33rd Representative District; Brett German (R), State Representative 35th Representative District.


Susan Racca (R), Clerk of Court; Howard Scott Lavergne (NP), Assessor; Kevin Charles Dupke (R), Coroner; Magnus “Sonny” McGee (NP), Police Juror District 1; Byron Gibbs, Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 6.

Those qualifying and seeking election are told by office and name here:


Governor – Benjamin Barnes (I), Patrick Henry “Dat” Barthel (R), Daniel M. “Danny” Cole (D), Oscar “Omar” Dantzler Jr. (D), Xavier Ellis (R), “Keitron” Gagnon (NP), Sharon W. Hewitt (R), Jeremy Istre (I), “Xan” John (R), “Jeff” Landry (R), Hunter Lundy (I), Richard Nelson (R), John Schroder (R), Frank Scurlock (I), Stephen “Wags” Waguespack (R) and Shawn D. Wilson (D).

Lt. Governor – Elbert “Pawpaw” Guillory (R), “Tami” Hotard (R), Wille Jones (D), William “Billy” Nungessor (R), Bruce Payton (I), Chester Pritchett (NP), and Gary Rispone (NP).

Secretary of State – “Gwen” Collins Greenup (D), “Mike” Francis (R), Amanda “Smith” Jennings (O), Thomas J. Kennedy III (R), Nancy Landry (R), Clay Schexnayder (R), and Brandon Trosclair (R).

Attorney General – Lindsey Cheek (D), “Marty” Maley (R), “Liz” Baker Murrill (R), John Stefanski (R), and Perry Walker Terrebonne (D).

Treasurer – John Fleming (R), Dustin Granger (D), and Scott McKnight (R).

Commission of Insurance – “Tim” Temple (R) and R. D. “Rich” Weaver (D).

BESE District 7 – Cathy S. Banks (R), Kevin M. Bergen (R), and Erick Knezek (R).

State Senator 25th Senatorial District – Mark Abraham (R) and Joshua “Josh” Lewis (D).


Sheriff – Michael “Mike” Hebert (R) and “Chris” Savoie (R).

Police Juror District 2 – Michael Fewell (R) and Curtis R. Fountain Sr. (R)

Police Juror District 3 – Samuel “Sam” Bordelon (R), Darryl Farque (I), and McKinley Wayne “Butch” Guidry (I).

Police Juror District 4 – Haley Alleman (I), Joseph “Joe” Dupont (R), Danny Myers (R), Kirk Quinn (R), John “Johnny” Watson (R), and Wendell Wilkerson (R).

Police Juror District 5 – Mark Daigle (R), Earnestine “Tina” Horn (I), and Scott Trahan (R).

Police Juror District 6 – Lawrence “Lee” Faulk Jr. (I) and Ronald Nunez Jr. (R).