logo hometown
| News Forms | Who's Who |
| Two meetings | Access restricted | Fur Fest | Marsh creation project |
| Debra Dupuy | Riley Broussard | Obituary Archives |
| Grand Lake rolls to win |
| Contact Information | Deadlines | Display Advertising | Classifieds | Legal Advertising | Inserts | Billing | Mechanical Specs |

Who's Who

-In Cameron Parish

Cameron Parish NAACP

Louise Cole, president of the Cameron Branch of the NAACP, presented a praise dance during the May 11, National Day of Prayer held in Cameron.

“A Voteless People Is A Hopeless People”

LOUISE COLE, president of the Cameron Branch of the NAACP, presented a praise dance to “Soul on Fire” during the May 10, National Day of Prayer held in Cameron.

Forty years ago on June 12, 1978 the Cameron Parish Branch NAACP was organized. The orig- inal officers of the Cameron branch included President Louise Cole, Vice President Dr. Cecil Clark, Secretary Dr. Charles Cole, Assistant Secretary Mrs. Beatrice Frasier, Treasurer Mrs. Bobbie Jean LeBlanc, and Chaplain Rev. Larry January.

For all of these years the branch has stood with honor and integrity with the people of Cameron Parish. They have built upon a tradition of providing services to young and old. They continue to work and pray with all sectors of the Cameron community to unify and strengthen our beautiful Cameron Parish. Temporarily, meetings are held every third Friday of the month at 2817 1/2 Fitzenreiter Road in Lake Charles.

Every year in January the branch sponsors an annual Martin Luther King, Jr. parade. They hold Freedom Fund activities and recently held the annual Style and Fashion Show and crowning of the queen. They also award scholarships to our youth.

A highlight of the year is the National Day of Prayer event in May, held on the court house steps.

In 2004, the Monkey Island ferry landing was re-named in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The Police Jury and state promised that when a bridge is eventually built to the island it will be named the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Bridge.

Current officers serving with Mrs. Cole are Vice President Rev. Dennis Herbert, Secretary Dr. Charles Cole, and Treasurer Mrs. Mary Cockrell. The chapter has been recognized as one of the outstanding branches in the state. You may contact the branch at (337) 853-6283.

white space About Us | Contact Us | Design ©2019 Dustin Royer. Content ©2019 Wise Newspapers, Inc.